Walk Through A Wedding-American Honey

Three weeks ago I had the opportunity to drive down to Charlotte to be part of Justin & Mary’s Walk Through A Wedding Workshop.  I had been so excited for it. It was a day of learning how Justin, Mary & Julia photograph a wedding with a group of other photographers.  I will liken it to a seminar that people go to for work but fun, inspirational and I actually wanted to be there. Justin & Mary are a husband and wife photo team that now also includes Julia, their 3rd shooter, office manager, assistant, producer…well you get the idea.  They have started these workshops where they put together a themed mock wedding and walk photographers through the wedding day. I can’t think of a better way to spend a day than with other photographers, learning new things and taking photos but maybe that’s just me.

I have been following Justin and Mary’s blog for about a year now after I attended their Spread The Love Seminar in Charlotte in 2010. I can’t even remember how I came across it but when I did I shared the info with my friend Angela and we both drove down together.  So naturally when I decided to attend this workshop I told Angela about it and she came as well. I can’t say enough good things about the experience. They are both incredible teachers and I think it is because they love what they do and love to share it with others. Mary is the heart of the team and captivatingly narrates in such a way that you can almost see what she is speaking about.  Justin is technically savvy but explains things to people so all can understand.

I am not sure if these images will show any of the challenges we had that day with the weather. I can tell you that even though it was sunny and pretty it was windy, seriously windy. The kind of windy that spills the champagne glasses on the table and lifts corner of the barn roof while Mary is speaking windy. Like is there a tornadoe coming? Then there were the bees in the barn but we were told they were carpenter bees or something like that and wouldn’t sting. But regardless we survived, had a great time and got some great images thanks to our very patient and cooperative models.

 

These next two images were achieved thanks to Justin holding up a reflector for our group.  Thanks Justin!

 

 

Mary showing our wonderful models how to pose.  Work it Mary;)

3 thoughts on “Walk Through A Wedding-American Honey

Leave a Reply

