Christina & Ryan: Fall Picnic Engagement Shoot

Last weekend was Christina and Ryan’s engagement shoot….. finally! I don’t usually say this but we had been coming up with ideas for the shoot and with each idea came more anticipation for the day. I met Christina a couple of years ago through a Raleigh Meetup group. Since then she met and dated Ryan and got engaged. We scheduled to all meet at Starbucks and talk about the details and also for Ryan and I to actually meet. The one thing that Christina made clear is that for the engagement shoot she wanted to incorporate her Grandmother’s quilt and that she liked rustic barns. I suggested a picnic since both of them love the outdoors and work in jobs that help protect it. And so began the creative ideas.

I searched high and low to find the perfect spot for the shoot. I was hoping to find private property because we wanted to incorporate their gun in some images since they like to go shooting. No luck. What I did find was public property with strict rules about no guns. Oh well. It turned out the that they loved the spot I found.  Also, Ryan’s first land surveying assignment had been right across the street from where we took the photos. A lot of fun details went into the shoot from Anthropologie items to Etsy treasures. The tote that we used for the quilt is actually an Anthropologie shopping bag that the wonderful assistant manager,Sara, at the Southpoint Store let us borrow. It is amazing what you can get if you just ask!

I had so much trouble narrowing down photos. This is the best I could do (read: be prepared for a long blog post filled with photos).

Some of the vendors items from the shoot:

Simply Scrumptious…Julie provided the apple tart and the truffles you see Christina and Ryan enjoying in the photo above the boots photo. If local and organic (and yummy!) is your style then Julie is your baker.

Jagg Classic Wholesale….The wonderful Suzy over at Jagg answered all my questions and helped me choose some great flowers for the shoot.

Bragging Bags….This great Etsy store is where I got the natural and rustic wood vases.

I Wished For You….Another great Etsy shop with the sweetest name provided the rustic burlap “love” banner. I literally want to come up with inspiring words and order these banners with them and hang them all over my room.

7 thoughts on “Christina & Ryan: Fall Picnic Engagement Shoot

  1. Great job Sophia! You were a delight to work with and the location was perfect, exactly what we wanted. And damn does my fiance look good! 🙂

  2. Lovely pictures!! I especially love the ones where you are smiling at each other. The woodland scenery is perfect. Sophia does very nice work. Good luck to you, and your handsome man. DeAnn

  3. Christina,

    What wonderful pictures! and the quilt – just a wonderful way to honor Grandma. Looking forward to seeing both of you soon and meeting this handsome young man.

    Love, Aunt Dee

  4. I loved loved loved all the pics. They all turned out great! And the location was perfect! Can’t wait for the big day. Love you guys!

  5. These pictures truly capture the love that Ryan and Christina have for one another! The setting was perfect! The ideas were amazing! I especially enjoyed the pictures that were taken by the water. Ryan can’t wait to watch you marry your soulmate! Much Love and Happiness to you both!! Love, Aunt Dee

Leave a Reply

