Dear Mr. Einstein….Am I Insane?

I love quotes. Whenever I find a new one I copy paste it to a document I have titled..(wait for it)…”Quotes”. There are so many wise words that have been spoken by so many people. At times it overwhelms me because I want to be those things, all of them. But that is crazy (I have a lot of quotes). Today I started thinking about that quote that talks about doing the same thing and expecting different results. This train of thought came because of a call I had made to my mother three days ago.

I have to backtrack to May 5th when I hurt my neck. I’ve always had stiffness on and off but this time something happened. That Saturday I stayed home and had to move carefully and move my torso as a unit, essentially do the robot just not in an ironic way. Just the act of laying down and getting up hurt. It had started to dissipate but then “it” happened again this past Wednesday. I called my mom the next day because the neck pain had come back and I wanted some encouragement. Without getting into the nitty gritty details, I got none and received a lecture instead which just caused more tension to an already painful neck situation. I told her I had to get back to work and gritted my teeth until my first chiropractic appointment later that day.

So back to today, this quote is in my head so I google it. It turns out it is an Einstein quote. I am not sure if this quote applies exactly to my situation but I have known for a while that if I go to my mother looking for emotional support I do not get it and instead am told what I should be doing. Because who doesn’t need a good kick when they are down? I, ever the optimist, (or amnesiac, take your pick) like to think that this time….no scratch that. I don’t think about it I just call my mother, you know because she is my mother, and I need a sympathetic ear. I do not think my mother is trying to be unkind. As she puts it she just has to tell me the truth and doesn’t want to sugar coat things. I completely appreciate that type of person but I do believe there is a time and a place. But really, I am asking a fish to fly and that is just not fair. So let’s hope in this type of scenario I stop repeating the same thing and therefore stop being insane.

To put a positive spin on this introspection I decided to review these quotes from Einstein. There are ten of them which is a bit overwhelming but it is the weekend so why not? Though he would never have been a person I would have picked as someone I would have liked to have met, I mean what would I say to such great physicist, “I take photos…do you like photos?”. These quotes, though they could all be related solely to science they are also completely relevant to life in general. This possibility makes him seem a bit more relatable and I appreciate him from a different point of view.

1. “I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.”

2. “It’s not that I’m so smart; it’s just that I stay with problems longer.”

3. “Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves.”

4. “Imagination is everything. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions. Imagination is more important than knowledge.”

5. “A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.”

6. “I never think of the future – it comes soon enough.”

7. “Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.”

8. “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

9. “Information is not knowledge. The only source of knowledge is experience.”

10. “You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”

Also, though my May 5th was ruined (it was Kentucky Derby Day & Cinquo de Mayo and I was laid up at home!). I did manage to feel well enough on Sunday afternoon to go take photos of a “field” of poppies I saw on the way to my mom’s house. It is more of a patch of land at an exit off a major highway but the photos don’t show that because I’m so tricky;). What better to go to wise words than the beauty of poppies in the setting sun?

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Einstein….Am I Insane?

    • Thanks Angela. My neck does feel better though not 100%. It was my first time ever going to a chiropractor and it was amazing! Hey maybe we could hang out again some time;)? I am thinking of going to Craggy Gardens near Black Mountain in June. It would be a weekend thing.

Leave a Reply

