Today, My Great Uncle Died

Today I received a message from my great cousin that his father, my great uncle, died. Therefore I am sad. I know the title makes him sound like an old and distant relative.  Which he was, technically. He was 95 and lived in France and I live in the States. I met him a total of 4 times, the first time being when I was 10 yrs old. I would say he would be the reason I believe in love at “first sight” . He is my (deceased) grandfather’s brother. But the first time time I met him I was instantly attracted to him, kind of like a moth to a flame. My mother had to tell me to stop following him around so much. I’m not sure what it was about him, perhaps his heart. I never got to tell him I love him which makes me sad. I am telling myself not to be selfish he was old, in pain, and they had discovered two weeks ago, that his whole body was filled with cancer. He wanted to go I just wish I could have been there to tell him once that he touched my heart without trying and that I loved him.

 

Rest soundly Ramon Graux. A man who was born during World War I and lived through World War II and lived a good life. I know you will be missed by many. 

 

ImageImage

One thought on “Today, My Great Uncle Died

  1. Oh Sophia. . . I saw your post last night and it made me so sad that I couldn’t read further. . . I didn’t even meet Ramon but I miss him too. It is so special that you were able to visit him recently and take these beautiful photographs. I think he knew you loved him – some things we just know in our hearts. Just the fact you took the time to visit and spend time with him I am sure meant a lot to him. Remembering Ramon with you today. . .

Leave a Reply

