Dylan’s Nearly Newborn Photo Shoot

A week ago I had the pleasure of meeting and photographing Dylan around the date he should have been born. Dylan had other plans though and had to arrive a month early and spent his time in the hospital the first month getting stronger and bigger. I think he may have been at a whopping 6 lbs the day of this shoot. I have to admit I had a little too much fun putting props together and planning different poses. To the point I enlisted one of my stuffed toys as a sit in to give me a clear plan for when Dylan arrived. Luckily Dylan’s mom is also my friend so she put up with the ideas I kept excitedly sending her. Here are some photos I took with my phone of my setups for your amusement:

IMAG3037_1

IMAG3027_1


IMAG3028

IMAG3024_1-1

IMAG3045_1

IMAG3030_1

But as in all best laid plans modifications had to be made because that day Dylan did not have much interest in sleeping or being swaddled. His plans were surrounded by eating and being awake. But patience prevailed and some pretty sweet images were created. And to give Dylan some props…he actually held his little head up himself for one of the shots so there was no need to composite different images. I have to say my favorite images are the ones where I manage to capture Dylan’s little smirk where I can only assume he is making jokes at my expense :).

IMG_2043

IMG_2098cashmere

IMG_2153gypsy

IMG_2161

IMG_2257cashmereb&w

IMG_2313cashmere

IMG_2327

IMG_2348cashmereb&w

IMG_2353cashmere

IMG_2485

IMG_2467

IMG_2498

IMG_2526

IMG_2589

IMG_2594

IMG_2661

Leave a Reply

